Home > Uncategorized > The Problem With Trump

The Problem With Trump

I am distraught with the election of Donald Trump. Not necessarily the fact that he will be the president, or that the press is seemingly unable to accept his election. Not even with the millenials protesting by burning and breaking their neighborhoods, with the complicity of professional victim groups like Black Lives Matter and Moveon.org. After all, one expects millennials to be safe-space demanding, crying at the drop of a hat, emotionally driven hipster morons.
Trump wasn’t elected to be dictator, or leader for life, or fascist-in-chief. Despite the abuses of the outgoing president, a president’s power is limited. Not only by the constitution itself, but also by the Congress and the Supreme Court. It takes roughly 270 elected people to agree with his actions before he can implement them. He may get lucky, like Obama, and be faced with an opposition party that consists largely of quislings, but I doubt it.
No, what bothers me is the reaction of those who I thought were my friends and acquantences. People I had previously thought to be reasonable, rational people seem to have become unhinged at the thought of Trump in the White House.
I have friends that are liberal, conservative, and pretty much everywhere in between. And I’ve always enjoyed our sometimes-combative discussions. Mostly because they have been rational, fact-based arguments.
But now, it’s all been changed. I still have liberal friends, and I still have conservative friends, and I have smart friends, and less smart friends. But now I have a new category of friends: trivial friends. Not that their friendship is trivial to me, but that they have relegated themselves to the status of trivial by their embrace of empty and shallow rhetoric, by their acceptance of media smear tactics, and by their abandonment of the democratic process.
I have a friend who is, putatively, a man of science. Yet he has parroted the “not my president” line, and slams the incoming president’s choice of staff as being racist. When asked what evidence there is that Stephen Bannon is a racist, he resorts to the time-tested avoidance of “look it up yourself.”
That places him squarely into the “trivial” category, and that saddens me. That so many people are so deranged by an election that they jettison reason and serious thought, and instead become talking memes, is a cause for sadness. And that is exactly what has happened. I am saddened and distraught that people I once thought serious are now regarded as trivial. And that is the real reason that Trump’s election makes me distraught.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

What's your opinion? Let me know.

